top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKensey

This Is Me

This Is Me

My full name is Mackensey Lyn Sexton, maiden name Radke. I was born in Orange, California but after a short six months moved to Iowa. I grew up with my parents and three younger brothers. We were, and still are, a very close family!


My Childhood

I was part of the Sheldon Community School District, home of the Orabs. From a very young age, and I mean 1st grade young, I knew that I would be a teacher when I grew up. I was able to recognize the impact teachers had on kids as I can still clearly remember my first grade teacher telling me "Wow, you would be a great teacher someday" while I was reading a book to my peers. This was something that really stuck with me and constantly encouraged me throughout my education. When I reached high school, sports were a huge part of my life, but I also was always looking for ways to spend time with kids. I took as many community service classes as I could so I could go to the elementary or middle school to mentor and work with younger students. During the school year I would babysit whenever I could fit it into my schedule. Then in the summer I worked at the pool and coached rec tee ball and volleyball. Coaching the kids was a great way for me to combine my passion for kids and sports! The Awana church program was also a huge part of my life. I quickly found that no matter how bad my day was, going to work with the little kids each Wednesday night brought me so much joy and peace. This was the moment that I officially made the decision to go to college for elementary education... but where would I go?


The Great BVU

Wowza, I don't know if I could ever fully explain to you how much this school means to me. I chose to attend Buena Vista University in Storm Lake, Iowa. This was the perfect fit for me as it was still close to "home" so that I could return to support my brothers in their activities. Immediately I declared Elementary Education as my major with a Social Studies concentration. While I loved working with kids, I LOVED learning about social studies so why not learn as much as I could about both? I also had the opportunity to play softball and help with the football team. Buena Vista brought me some of my closest friends along with my best friend who I also have the honor of calling my husband. I graduated from BV in May of 2018 and continued on my path in education.


Dream Job

Straight out of college my husband got a job working as a Strength and Conditioning Coach for the high school he graduated from. Shortly after, I accepted the position as a 4th grade teacher in the same district. We were now going to work in the same building, it was a dream come true. Little did I know, this dream was only going to get better. The support within the district is amazing and I love each of the kiddos I have had the chance to work with. As I grew to know my team, not only did I see they were all amazing teachers but I quickly realized they would become lifelong friends.


The Greatest Day

On July 27, 2019 I was blessed to marry my best friend. Our ceremony was held at the place that brought us together, Buena Vista University. We had the absolute best day celebrating with our friends and family.


Today I am preparing for my third year in the district that has brought me joy, best friends, and so many great memories. My husband, Cody and I enjoy spending time with family and friends. We both have also been using our passions of working with kids and sports through our job and coaching. I look forward to many more great memories with family, friends, and all the little kiddos that will impact my life.

21 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page