top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKensey

Advice and Advantages for Implementing Classroom Jobs Efficiently

Classroom jobs are an often overlooked productivity tool within the classroom community. When used and implemented correctly, jobs can keep a classroom running smoothly and can reduce a lot of teacher work. My classroom jobs and classroom job implementation has greatly improved over my time in the classroom. I've found better tools for implementation and have figured out which jobs are the most helpful and I am excited to share those ideas with you!

 

Tools






It is so important for students to have a visual reminder of their responsibilities. The Bitmoji Classroom Job Cards are a fun way to share with students what job they have. I adjust jobs frequently and wanted an easy way to adjust students as needed. I decided to use my student numbers and purchased the Scribble Numbers Magnetic Accents from Amazon. The magnetic feature allows me to easily shift student jobs when needed.






Throughout the first few days of school, I always take time to teach the students about each job and their responsibilities. I show my students the Classroom Jobs Presentation which always gets them excited about having classroom jobs but also thoroughly explains each job.





The final step when teaching about classroom jobs is giving the students a chance to apply! An application process instead of randomly assigning jobs or rotating through jobs helps with student buy in. This application gives students the chance to choose their three favorite jobs and explain why they would be great for the job. The application also works as a contract for students to sign, promising to complete the classroom job to the best of their abilities.




 

Tips and Tricks


My Favorites


Through my years teaching, I have found that there are a few jobs that have been essential to keeping my classroom running smoothly. These are the jobs that will be used in my classroom every single year.


Sorter- This job was added part way through my first year teaching. I found myself spending so much time sorting class papers into alphabetical order before I graded them so that the grades were easy to enter and it was easier to send the papers back to students. I realized that this is a job that I could have students do for me. At the end of the day, my sorter will grab the papers in our tray, along with the list of our class in alphabetical order and sort the papers for me. This is always done before work has been graded for student confidentiality. Including this job in my classroom jobs has saved me SO MUCH time over the years.


Librarian- If you have a classroom library, this job is a must! I actually use two in my classroom to help ensure that books are put away correctly. This job takes a little bit of training at the beginning of the year, but if you have your classroom library organized and labeled it can be a huge time saver!


Light Switcher- If you are anything like me and HATE the florescent lighting in schools, then this is a job to include in your classroom. I have five lamps around my classroom to try to curb the amount of florescent lightening that my students and I have to see. Turning on all of the lamps at the beginning of the day and off at the end of the day can take a lot of time, and to be honest, a lot of times I forget! My light switcher will not only turn on and off the classroom lights when needed but is also in charge of turning on and off the lamps each day.


My Tips

  1. Have students reapply for jobs each quarter. By having students reapply for jobs each quarter you are allowing students to hold 4 different jobs throughout the school year.

  2. Pay students. If you have some sort of classroom management system where you can "pay" students for completing their jobs, you are endorsing real life skills. We use a coin system in my classroom so students will earn coins for completing their jobs.

  3. Adjust throughout the year. If you notice that there is a job that is not working or one that you really need to add in the middle of the school year, do it! Don't be afraid to adjust your job board as your classroom needs it.

  4. Be clear with consequences. Decide right away what your expectations are for the students and follow through with it. If you use the Classroom Jobs Application, students are signing a contract to complete the job to the best of their abilities. If they fail to do so, you could decide to fire and rehire for that job.

  5. Take time to review. As you are switching students' jobs throughout the year, make sure to take time to review each jobs responsibilities whether that is with the Classroom Jobs Presentation or just by explaining. Students will often times forget all of the responsibilities of the other jobs, especially if it is one they have not been doing. By reviewing the jobs throughout the year, you will help ensure that the jobs are fully completed and done correctly.

Classroom jobs can be a huge time saver as long as they are implemented correctly. There are many different ways that teachers have used classroom jobs that have worked well and others that have not. I would love to hear about your experiences in the comments below!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page