top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKensey

5 Awesome Open House Ideas

Open House is a key moment when teachers first interact with their students and parents. This moment can have a major impact on how the rest of the school year will go. I have put together my top five tricks for a seamless open house that will set you up for a fantastic school year!




1. Task Cards



Task cards have been a HUGE lifesaver for me with Open House. This simple addition has allowed me to spend my time greeting families and answering questions while students and their parents explore the classroom. By using task cards I am also able to ensure that families are receiving all of the information that they need.




2. First Day Letters



First Day of School Letters were a new addition to my Open House procedure this year but boy am I glad that I added them. I had so many parents comment that it was such a cool idea. My students had the best time opening and reading the cards on the first day of school.




3. Treat Table



I love to put together some sort of treat table for my families to thank them for taking the time to come in. In the past I have done both candy and popcorn as the treat. It is so much fun and easy to put together. I've become known as the room with the treats!




4. Your Picture



Since my first year teaching I have placed my fourth grade picture (because I teach fourth grade) on the treat table. Both the parents and students have so much fun being able to see what their teacher looked like at that age. Every year I have parents comment on how much they love this idea!






This can be as simple as a bookmark or as complex as a water bottle. A back to school gift will get your students excited to start school and will show them just how loved they are. I always make sure to choose gifts with a purpose. My favorite gift is student bookmarks that they can use throughout the school year!



Whether you choose to implement all of these ideas or just a few, it is guaranteed to set your year off to a great start. These small details are sure to make your open house run smoothly and make all of your families feel special!


Comments


bottom of page