top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKensey

The Choices of Flexible Seating

Once you have made the decision to add flexible seating to your classroom, it is time to start shopping! Now, I know that most teachers are working on adding flexible seating on a budget or with very little money so I want to start with a few tips on how to add flexible seating at low cost to the teacher.


I added flexible seating to my classroom straight out of college without spending any money on it. How is that possible? Try the following steps.

  1. Donors Choose: I highly recommend starting a Donors Choose project. This is a way for teachers to raise money on a specific project. Many people are looking to donate to classrooms but don't know how. When explaining the benefits of flexible seating, many people can relate to it and want to help current students. Make sure to check with your school before starting a project.

  2. Reach Out: Out of college, I immediately made a post on my Facebook page asking for any donations to my classroom. The things I asked for were items that people no longer needed or were wanting to get rid of. There are a ton of people who have stools and throw pillows in great condition but that they no longer need.

  3. Wish List: If you decide to create a wishlist for open house consider putting small flexible seating options on it. There are many parents that love this idea and want to contribute to their child's classroom. The items I would suggest adding to this list are scoop chairs, lap desks, and bungee chairs.

Now let's jump into some of my favorite flexible seating options. You can find them in multiple stores but I will also include a link to a website where you can find each of them.


1. Pillows

Like I mentioned before, ask for donations of pillows before going out and buying them. I have received many pillows to add to my classroom, just make sure you wash them first. In my classroom I have a low table and let students sit on the floor around the room. Pillows are a great way for students to sit on the ground comfortably. I often have students grab a pillow to place on their chair to make it more comfortable as well.


2. Sit Disc

Sit Discs are another great option for students to sit on to be more comfortable. Many students enjoy using these on chairs or stools. The small bumps on the disc allow for sensory stimulation as well.


3. Wobble Stool

Wobble stools are a great way for students to have a little more movement during class without distracting others.


4. Bouncy Bands

If you are looking to start your flexible seating slowly, I would highly suggest starting with bouncy bands. These are easily added to desks and can add a little extra movement that some students need.


5. Scoop Chair

The scoop chair was a new addition to my classroom this school year, but was an instant hit! My students loved the additional option for floor seating and that this floor option also could slightly rock.


6. Bungee Chair

A bungee chair was also a new addition to my classroom this school year. It was a great addition to our classroom library, and a very popular seating option amongst all of my classes. It is very comfortable and adds a comfortable feeling to your classroom.


7. Lap Desk

A lap desk is a great way for students to work around the classroom and have something to write on. We added this piece to my classroom this year as well and students loved using it to write and work on.


These are a few of my favorite flexible seating options that we use in my classroom. Remember, you do not have to pay to add these options into your class. Talk with your school and ask for donations. There are always people wanting to help!

13 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page