top of page
Search
Writer's pictureKensey

Google Suite in the Classroom

The Google Suite provides educators with free and easy to use technology tools. Often times the basic tools are used but educators are not aware of the many uses for that single tool. There are also less common or hidden tools that are also very beneficial to both the educator and the students. I am excited to share with you 5 of my favorite Google Suite tools and how I use them.


1. Google Keep

Google Keep is one of the Google Suite tools that I feel is a hidden gem. This tool allows users to stay organized, create lists, and collaborate with others. For teachers, this is a great way to create multiple checklists of things that you need to complete and check them off as you complete the tasks. This tool could be used as a digital planner for students as well.


2. Google Classroom

I LOVE using Google Classroom with my students. If you use a lot of digital resources, documents, or activities with your students this tool is an absolute must have! I recommend creating a class, for each section you teach, and adding your students to the class at the very beginning of the year. That way, as you continue throughout the year, you can use Google Classroom to share resources with your students both in the classroom and at home.


3. Google Forms

Google Forms is, in my opinion, the best google tool for student engagement. It is a great way to do check ins or bell ringers with your class. Through our time doing digital learning I created all of my digital worksheets with Google Forms as well. However, my favorite use for Google Forms is creating digital escape rooms. There are so many different uses for Google Forms, the sky really is the limit.


4. Google Drive

Google Drive is the best way to organize your entire Google Suite. The user has the ability to enter each individual google tool to find any saved document. However, Google Drive works as a mass google suite folder. Simply enter Google Drive and find any google document in one location.


5. Google Slides

Google Slides is an excellent collaboration tool for your students to use. I do a lot of group work in my class. Using Google Slides allows all students in a group to work at the same time and to work together on the same project. The educator can even set up a layout for students to use. Google Slides is also how I present my morning message to my students each day. It is easy to set up and has a lot of design options.


These are a few of my favorite Google Suite tools that I use in my teaching. If you are interested in learning more about a specific tool or would like to learn fun tips or tricks make sure to check out my Youtube channel!

17 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page